2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: New Life Spectrum Ich Shield  (Read 3826 times)

Offline Heinbaughb

• Adult
New Life Spectrum Ich Shield
« on: August 01, 2017, 21:47:42 »
My new tank additions of a striped burrfish and raccoon butterfly came down with the first case of crypt in my tank. I'm new to treating this in a marine set up and was looking for an option that I could use to treat the display tank as I don't have a up and running quarantine tank. This product is supposed to kill the ich cycle if the fish eat the pellets for a full 21 days. I'm on day 2..I'll let you all know if it works!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Agame43

• Lifetime Premium Member
  • Adult
Re: New Life Spectrum Ich Shield
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2017, 21:42:13 »

I use this as well and it seems to work, soak the pellets in garlic and Selcon to help boost immune system, these pellets do not taste the best either. The fish may get tired of them so soaking does help.

Good luck!

Offline Humphrey

• Adult
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2017, 18:15:32 »
The Powder is great.  I use the powder as a preventative in QT, but the powder cannot be used in a reef tank. 

I was successful in curing Velvet on a foxface in QT, and I haven't seen Ich since employing the powder as a prophylatic. I believe the Key ingredient is CP (chloroquintine phosphate). One shot and you're done with the powder.  I have heard wrasses have difficulty tolerating it, but I have used it as a preventative successfully with wrasses.

Pellets have the same ingredient, and it should be effective.  Seachem focus is another additive which might help make it palatable if they won't eat it.  Fingers crossed.

Offline Heinbaughb

• Adult
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2017, 18:20:01 »