2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: Gravity versus Feed Pump Skimmer Debate  (Read 11950 times)

Offline aquavista99

Gravity versus Feed Pump Skimmer Debate
« on: February 17, 2009, 12:02:11 »
Is it more wise to use a feed pump vs. gravity feed?  I have never used an external skimmer before and I am just wanting to weigh options before this thing arrives.

I think my EuroReef contact said you will get better results with a feed pump. It would be cheaper to use gravity feed, but I think you have more options to better control how much flow goes into your skimmer with  the first option (without resctricting the flow from your aquarium to your sump).

Offline Baggerhog

• Adult
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2009, 20:27:08 »
I think my EuroReef contact said you will get better results with a feed pump. It would be cheaper to use gravity feed, but I think you have more options to better control how much flow goes into your skimmer with  the first option (without resctricting the flow from your aquarium to your sump).

Direct feeding your skimmer is the best way to ensure your skimmer is getting the dirtiest water. This can be controlled with a T-fitting and a gate valve. If you contact any skimmer that does not require a pressure fed then the direct feed is the way to go. If I could have worked this out to make me happy I would have direct feed my skimmer.
Andy
Batavia, Ohio
500 Reef with 320 gallon sump setup

bigfalcon36

« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2009, 20:36:20 »
Andy, so you're refering to hook one drain up to the skimmer's water input, correct?

Offline Baggerhog

• Adult
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2009, 21:00:12 »
Yes but most skimmers like the one you have probably would not perform well with that much flow which is why I suggested the t and then a gate valve or a high quality ball valve.
Andy
Batavia, Ohio

Offline aquavista99

« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2009, 21:45:31 »