2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: Hypo in display tank?  (Read 3003 times)

Offline Phoenix7506

• Juvenile
Hypo in display tank?
« on: May 30, 2013, 04:10:20 »
So.. My 75 cycled and has been going for a month now. I added the first few fish and I'm now starting to see ich. I did set up a 20g quarintine tank a week ago. I know I kinda did things backwards but I'm still learning.

I have the 2 clowns that I moved from the biocube, a purple dottyback, female swallowtail angel, and a chocolate tang. It seems to me that the qt might be a little small for all 5 fish and its not cycled yet. All fish are fat and eating well. The ich isn't very heavy. The angel and tang are rubbing a little. Eyes are still clear.

I only have a couple shrimp, a dozen snails, and 8 small pieces of coral so I was thinking about just taking them out and putting the 75 into hypo. This would also be a lot easier than catching the fish and a lot less stressful for them.

My real question is what will this do to my sand and rock? I'm guessing the bacteria will be fine but sponges and hitch hikers in the rocks will die off. Is it worth killing off these beneficial critters? It has only been going for a month so I can't see too much of a setback. What are your thoughts?

Offline Twizted1

• Adult
Hypo in display tank?
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2013, 07:40:45 »
How bad is the it? You may just feed your fish a good diet that includes garlic and just let it go. There are people that live with ich in there dt. No one likes to have it in there dt. But if you go with a larger tang, even if it has been thru hypo. You risk putting ich right back in it anyways. So if the fish can handle it. And they're fishy world is still spinning, I would just let it ride.

Offline Viggen

Re: Hypo in display tank?
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2013, 12:23:23 »