2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: AquaController Programming  (Read 5641 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

bigfalcon36

  • Guest
AquaController Programming
« on: April 29, 2009, 23:02:55 »
Anyone interested in sharing programs just for fun?  I like to look at other folks programs to see what they have their tanks set at and I like to look at the Aquasurf programming for those that are running one.

Offline micki

  • Best mamaw Reefer!!!
  • Posts: 7,239
  • My munchkins! :)
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2009, 07:09:26 »
Sure, if I have one I'll share!  :)   What kind of program do you have?  Is it a PC thing? 

bigfalcon36

  • Guest
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2009, 09:07:35 »
You need to get one Micki.  They are an awesome way to keep your tank in check.  I have my AC3 set up to send me an email at work and a text to my phone if someting gets out of wack.  I can also view the status of my tank and turn devices on and off from anywhere...provided I have internet access.  It's crazy.

bigfalcon36

  • Guest
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2009, 09:22:21 »
Anyhow Here's my program....Let me know if I need to explain any of it.  I put explanations next to the Timer Names, so you can see what the abbreviations are for

Timer Names
LT1$-A01  Dawn/Dusk Lights
LT2$-A02  T5 Lights (IceCap 660 and 4x54 watt bulbs)
SK1#-A03  Deltec Pump
SK2#-A04  Deltec Pump
HT1%-A05  Heater
CRX%-A06  Calcium Reactor Recirc pump
ATS&-A07  Auto Top Off Solenoid (Not being used at this time)
CO2&-A08  CO2 Solenoid for Calcium Reactor
ALM&-A09  Basic Alarm
MH1$-B01  250 watt metal Halide Light
MH2$-B02  250 watt metal Halide Light
LM3#-B03  Litermeter 3 Control (not programmed in yet)
FN1#-B04  4" IceCap Smart Fan
FN2%-B05  4" IceCap Smart Fan
HT2%-B06  Heater
MRP&-B07  Main Return Pump
FUG&-B08  Refugium Light
WV1#-E01  Tunze 6100
WV2#-E02  Tunze 6100
WV3#-E03  Extra just in case I add another Tunze
WV4#-E04  Extra just in case I add another Tunze

Program Statements

Items that always run
If Time > 00:00       Then SK1 ON
If Time > 00:00       Then SK2 ON
If Time > 00:00       Then MRP ON
If Time > 00:00       Then CRX ON
If Time > 00:00       Then ALM OFF

Lighting Schedule
If Time > 12:59       Then LT1 ON
If Time > 14:01       Then LT1 OFF
If Time > 20:57       Then LT1 ON
If Time > 22:00       Then LT1 OFF
If Sun  060/-060      Then LT2 ON
If Sun  120/-120      Then MH1 ON
If Sun  120/-120      Then MH2 ON
If Time > 22:02       Then FUG ON
If Time > 13:01       Then FUG OFF
Max Change 001 M      Then FUG OFF

Temperature Control and Safe Gaurds
If Temp  > RT+0.0      Then HT1 OFF
If Temp  < RT+-0.5      Then HT1 ON
If Temp  > RT+0.0      Then HT2 OFF
If Temp  < RT+-0.5      Then HT2 ON
If Temp  > RT+1.5      Then FN1 ON
If Temp  < RT+0.3      Then FN1 OFF
Max Change 005 M      Then FN1 OFF
If Temp  > RT+1.5      Then FN2 ON
If Temp  < RT+0.3      Then FN2 OFF
Max Change 005 M      Then FN2 OFF
If Temp  > RT+3.5      Then MH1 OFF
Max Change 030 M      Then MH1 OFF
If Temp  > RT+3.5      Then MH2 OFF
Max Change 030 M      Then MH2 OFF
If Temp  > RT+4.5      Then LT2 ON
Max Change 030 M      Then LT2 OFF

Calcium Reactor pH Controller
If pH    > 06.75       Then CO2 ON
If pH    < 06.45       Then CO2 OFF

Power Outage Safe Gaurds
If Power 000        Then MH1 OFF
Max Change 040 M      Then MH1 OFF
If Power 000        Then MH2 OFF
Max Change 040 M      Then MH2 OFF
If Power 000        Then LT1 OFF
Max Change 020 M      Then LT1 OFF
If Power 000        Then LT2 OFF
Max Change 020 M      Then LT2 OFF
If Power 000        Then SK1 OFF
Max Change 045 M      Then SK1 OFF
If Power 000        Then SK2 OFF
Max Change 047 M      Then SK2 OFF
If Power 000        Then CRX OFF
Max Change 015 M      Then CRX OFF

More Safe Gaurds
If Temp  < 50.0      Then HT1 OFF
Max Change 020 M      Then HT1 OFF
If Temp  < 50.0      Then HT2 OFF
Max Change 020 M      Then MH2 OFF
If Temp  < 50.0      Then MH1 OFF
Max Change 020 M      Then MH1 OFF
If Temp  < 50.0      Then MH2 OFF
Max Change 020 M      Then MH2 OFF
If Temp  < 50.0      Then LT1 OFF
Max Change 020 M      Then LT1 OFF
If Temp  < 50.0      Then LT2 OFF
Max Change 020 M      Then LT2 OFF

Aquasurf Programming
If Timer LT1 = ON       Then WV1 PF1
If Timer LT1 = ON       Then WV2 PF2
Pmp MODE sD     for PF1
Pmp Int 030/060     for PF1
Pmp OSC 08/08/00     for PF1
Pmp MODE SD     for PF2
Pmp Int 030/060     for PF2
Pmp OSC 00/08/08     for PF2
If Timer LT2 = ON       Then WV1 PF3
If Timer LT2 = ON       Then WV2 PF4
Pmp MODE sD     for PF3
Pmp Int 000/100     for PF3
Pmp OSC 08/08/00     for PF3
Pmp MODE SD     for PF4
Pmp Int 000/100     for PF4
Pmp OSC 00/08/08     for PF4
If Time > 21:00       Then WV1 PF5
If Time > 21:00       Then WV2 PF6
Pmp MODE SD     for PF5
Pmp Int 030/040     for PF5
Pmp OSC 08/08/00     for PF5
Pmp MODE SD     for PF6
Pmp Int 030/040     for PF6
Pmp OSC 00/08/08     for PF6

Basic Alarms
If pHA1  > 07.00       Then ALM ON
If pHA1  < 06.30       Then ALM ON
If pHA2  > 08.41       Then ALM ON
If pHA2  < 08.05       Then ALM ON
If Temp  > RT+4.0      Then ALM ON
If Temp  < RT+-1.5      Then ALM ON
If Power 000        Then ALM ON



Let me know if there are any questions about this.

Travis

Offline micki

  • Best mamaw Reefer!!!
  • Posts: 7,239
  • My munchkins! :)
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2009, 09:29:44 »
I tried to find my post from a while ago but I con't find it.  I think I posted something about wanting a controller that would text me etc.  What kind do you have? 

bigfalcon36

  • Guest
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2009, 10:09:19 »
Neptune Systems Aquacontroller 3 is what I have for now.  It's really a nice piece of equipment, it's worth the money in my opinion.  I would hold off on buying one though.  They are making a new model called the Apex that is supposed to be the Cat's A$$.  There are basically no limitations to it, you can program by the day (rather than just an overall program like I have), and you can contol more than one system at a time.

Offline micki

  • Best mamaw Reefer!!!
  • Posts: 7,239
  • My munchkins! :)
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2009, 10:36:38 »
Ummmm, yeah, for that price I'll be holding off a while...  ;) 

bigfalcon36

  • Guest
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2009, 10:54:22 »
If you really think about it though, it doesn't cost as much as a good Metal Halide system with VHO or T5 supplementation.  Plus it safe gaurds your investment and you dont have to have timers all over the place.

Offline micki

  • Best mamaw Reefer!!!
  • Posts: 7,239
  • My munchkins! :)
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2009, 10:58:14 »
I'm not saying it's not worth the investment, I'm just saying it's not in my budget right now!  :D   

Offline JoeAyers

  • Posts: 1,148
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #9 on: April 30, 2009, 11:03:00 »
Travis,

Are you using your aquasurf to create waves in your tank?

I'll try to remember to post my program when I get home tonight. It's pretty basic.

Joe

Blown76mav

  • Guest
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #10 on: April 30, 2009, 11:59:00 »
I'm going to assume these are PC based only. :puke ;D :'(

bigfalcon36

  • Guest
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #11 on: April 30, 2009, 12:50:59 »
Travis,

Are you using your aquasurf to create waves in your tank?

I'll try to remember to post my program when I get home tonight. It's pretty basic.

Joe


Yeah I am using the Aquasurf for just that purpose.  If you look at the programming, I have 3 different settings for my aquasurf/tunze.  The first one listed is a build up when the dawn/dusk lights are on.   The second listed is the 'money shot'.  It creates a resonate wave through my whole tank that can be any where from 3/4" to 1.5"...it's nuts.  Basically, there are no dead zones with it.  The third one listed is night mode.

I'm going to assume these are PC based only. :puke ;D :'(

They're not really...it's just not as quick.  You can program these right on the unit too, but it takes a really long to thumb all the commands in.

Blown76mav

  • Guest
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #12 on: April 30, 2009, 13:22:28 »
Guess I should have asked, can I use my MAC and will it still e mail me and let me control it via the internet?


Offline jungliztkruger

  • Adult
  • ****
  • Posts: 617
    • my other hobby...fire
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #13 on: April 30, 2009, 13:38:51 »
on their website it says that they are compatible for both pc and mac

Offline jeblin

  • Adult
  • ****
  • Posts: 550
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #14 on: April 30, 2009, 14:05:08 »
I don't know if one of our sponsors can match it, but PremiumAquatics has an AquaController JR setup for 219. It includes the AquaController JR, the serial port option (to program from your computer - but you'll still need the serial port cable), temperature probe, and the DC8 which is 8 controllable power outlets for the AC JR. I've been looking at them for awhile but still haven't had the urge to actually get one yet.

If you break down all the parts into their retail prices, you end up paying like 30-40 for the actual AC JR controller. If you upgrade to the AC III, all the accessories (probes, dc8, etc) can go with you. Unfortunately the price for the III is more than the whole kit for the JR.

Link is --> http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=NEP-ACJR-SERUP&Category_Code=


bigfalcon36

  • Guest
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #15 on: April 30, 2009, 18:01:28 »
Like I said earlier, I would hold off until the Apex comes out.  You'll see nice price changes.  The Apex is bundled and has everything you'll need for $500...the only extras you'd need would be extra pH probes and DC8s (if you want to add them).  I kick myself for not waiting on the APex, but I didnt know it was coming out...I would have saved like $300.

Blown76mav

  • Guest
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #16 on: April 30, 2009, 18:43:18 »
Any ETA on the Apex?  500 isn't that bad.

bigfalcon36

  • Guest
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #17 on: April 30, 2009, 18:50:54 »
preorder in May (tomorrow)...should be shipping by the end of May.

Blown76mav

  • Guest
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #18 on: April 30, 2009, 19:28:13 »
I'm soooo getting one. ;D  now that I know it works with a MAC

Offline Wall_Tank

  • Administrator
  • Adult
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,755
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #19 on: April 30, 2009, 20:27:28 »
I'll post mine, but it's not as pretty as Travis'.  I need to add a few more safeguards in mine


LT1$-A01   T5 Lights
LT2$-A02   250 MH
LT3$-A03   250 MH
LT4$-A09   250 MH on my Frag Tank
MON$-B01  Moon Lights (Neptune Systems)
AG1$-B08   Programmed, but Not Used
FA1&-D16   Hood Fan 1
FA2&-A08   Hood Fan 2
FA3&-A05   Sunp Fan
HT1%-A07  Heater
H2O#-D12  Litermeter Kalk, and auto water change
CO2&-D09  Calc Reactor
WV1#-C05 Power Head 1
WV2#-C06 Power Head 2
WVT#-P10 Dummy Timer
WV3#-D10 Power Head 3
WV4#-D11 Power Head 4
KLK#-D13  Kalk Mixing Pump
SMP$-D15  Sump Light
PM1#-P01  Main Recerc
SKM#-A12 Skimmer Pump
Pmp#-E01  Tunze Stream



If Time > 00:00       Then PM1 ON
If Time > 00:00       Then SKM ON
If Time > 00:00       Then WV2 OFF
If Time > 00:00       Then WV3 ON
If Time > 00:00       Then WV4 ON
If Power 000        Then LT1 OFF
Max Change 015 M      Then LT1 ON
If Power 000        Then LT2 OFF
Max Change 020 M      Then LT2 ON
If Power 000        Then LT3 OFF
Max Change 025 M      Then LT3 ON
If Power 000        Then LT4 OFF
Max Change 025 M      Then LT4 ON
If Time > 10:00       Then LT1 ON
If Time > 22:00       Then LT1 OFF
If Time > 22:00       Then H2O ON
If Time > 00:00       Then H2O ON
If Time > 10:00       Then H2O OFF
If Time > 13:45       Then LT2 ON
If Time > 20:45       Then LT2 OFF
If Time > 14:00       Then LT3 ON
If Time > 21:00       Then LT3 OFF
If Time > 11:00       Then LT4 ON
If Time > 21:00       Then LT4 OFF
If Time > 19:00       Then SMP ON
If Time > 12:00       Then SMP OFF
If Time > 09:00       Then AG1 ON
If Time > 22:30       Then AG1 OFF
If Moon 000/000      Then MON ON
If Time > 10:00       Then FA1 ON
If Time > 22:00       Then FA1 OFF
If Time > 14:00       Then FA2 ON
If Time > 21:15       Then FA2 OFF
If pHA1  < 06.60       Then CO2 OFF
If pHA1  > 06.70       Then CO2 ON
If pH    < 07.90       Then CO2 OFF
RND 015/015 ON/OFF    Then WV1 ON
If Timer WV1 = OFF        Then WV2 ON
RND 015/045 ON/OFF    Then WVT OFF
If Timer WVT = ON       Then WV1 OFF
If Timer WVT = ON       Then WV2 OFF
OSC 010/240 ON/OFF    Then KLK ON
If Temp  < 78.3      Then HT1 ON
If Temp  > 78.5      Then HT1 OFF
If Temp  > 78.6      Then FA1 ON
If Temp  > 78.9      Then FA2 ON
If Temp  > 79.3      Then FA3 ON
If Temp  < 79.0      Then FA3 OFF
If Time > 10:00       Then Pmp PF1
If Time > 21:00       Then Pmp PF2
Pmp MODE sD     for PF1
Pmp MODE sd     for PF2
Pmp Int 035/100     for PF1
Pmp Int 035/035     for PF2
Pmp OSC 00/07/06     for PF1
Pmp OSC 00/10/10     for PF2
If FeedA 000         Then WV1 OFF
If FeedA 000         Then WV2 OFF
If FeedA 000         Then Pmp OFF
If FeedB 000         Then SKM OFF
If SwitchA1 CLOSED     Then SMP ON
If SwitchA3 CLOSED     Then SKM OFF
If SwitchA2 CLOSED     Then H2O ON

bigfalcon36

  • Guest
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #20 on: April 30, 2009, 21:28:27 »
Wall Tank, I like the program!  have you looked at using and modifying your season tables for temp and lights?  the reason I am asking is because you could free up a lot of the lines that you are using...just a thought. 

Can you tell me what your Dummy Timer is used for?  I see a lot of people using this...

Offline Wall_Tank

  • Administrator
  • Adult
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,755
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #21 on: April 30, 2009, 22:43:28 »
Never really got into the Season tables,  I started with an AC2, and did not buy aquanotes to use the PC interface.  With the AC3, I never looked at it.  I also like my lighting on a set schedule.....buy I suppose I could modify the schedule to suit my needs.  I guess I haven't reached the program limit yet either.....  Thanks for the tip.

The Dummy Timer is used for part of my randomizer time on a pair of modified maxijets.  Basically the two powerheads randomly alternate, then the dummy randomly kicks in to shut both of them off.  The dummy timer is used in this section of code.

RND 015/015 ON/OFF    Then WV1 ON
If Timer WV1 = OFF        Then WV2 ON
RND 015/045 ON/OFF    Then WVT OFF
If Timer WVT = ON       Then WV1 OFF
If Timer WVT = ON       Then WV2 OFF

I'd really like to get another controllable stream pump to run on my aquasurf.....but they are just so expensive compared to the maxijets.  The above code with the 1 stream pump I have does pretty good for random currents in the tanks

So I looked into the new APEX......man I'm bummed.  I hope he offers an upgrade path.   I have about every module type for the AC3

AC3
PX1000 Expansion Module
1 - Direct Connect 4
2 - Direct Connect 4HD
1 - Direct Connect 8
Lunar Sim
AquaSurf

bigfalcon36

  • Guest
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #22 on: May 01, 2009, 08:00:35 »
The Tunze are unreal and worth it, I could imagine owning anything less. 

Take a look around on Youtube...there are people that are putting their Vortech's on the aquasurf now!  It's wild.

I was really mad about the Apex coming out and no one saying anything when I was buying my AC3.  but looking back at it, the AC3 has no bugs...you know the APex will be problematic.  I usually wait a while before I buy 'new' technology for that reason.

Offline bkvreef

  • Adult
  • ****
  • Posts: 801
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #23 on: May 01, 2009, 09:28:07 »
Ok.  I'll toss this in here (from someone who doesn't have any type of controller).  For all of you looking at getting the APEX let me know because I would definitely be interested in your leftovers  ^-^
Thanks and God Bless,
John

Offline micki

  • Best mamaw Reefer!!!
  • Posts: 7,239
  • My munchkins! :)
Re: AquaController Programming
« Reply #24 on: May 01, 2009, 09:47:18 »
Ok.  I'll toss this in here (from someone who doesn't have any type of controller).  For all of you looking at getting the APEX let me know because I would definitely be interested in your leftovers  ^-^

I'm thinking the same thing!!!  :D

 

Powered by EzPortal