2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: Hello new to saltwater  (Read 3942 times)

Offline hamiltro

• Juvenile
Hello new to saltwater
« on: January 24, 2009, 09:46:55 »
Hello

I am new to the saltwater world. Had freash water for about 10 years. Well I got the 55 gallon box set, trade the filter in for a fluval 305, protein skimmer, water jet and 24 lbs of LR. well after jumping in i cant seem to stop reading about it. so if anyone has any tips for a first timer let me know? I do have one question, do you have to have fish in the tank for the frist 30 day setup. Thanks

Bobby
55 gal working on upgrading to 120 with a 55 Sump(unless I find a deal on a bigger tank)

Bigmoo

Re: Hello new to saltwater
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2009, 09:57:11 »
Welcome Bobby.

In short, No. The live rock should have enough die off to help cycle the tank. Another option to the fish is to put a small piece of shrimp into the tank and let it decay as a kick start to the cycling process. The idea of keeping fish in a cycling tank is a heated debate due to the less than ideal conditions the fish will be living in (thus inhumane). Just my advice, others I am sure will chime in.

Offline jake

• Adult
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2009, 11:07:44 »
Or a little urine works as well it actual skips the breakdown process I think

Offline lazylivin

• Administrator
  • Adult
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2009, 12:58:39 »
 :withstupid but could see the look on the wife's face walking in the room to catch you peein in the tank.
Liverock will do just fine.

Offline UD Flyer

• Adult
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2009, 12:59:43 »

Welcome aboard

Or a little urine works as well it actual skips the breakdown process I think

I would never try this method, but it sounds like it could work. Then you would be starting with ammonia and not wait the breakdown process. Also, how much would it take to jumpstart? Maybe someone should try this in a smaller tank and see how it works.

Blown76mav