2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: high salinity  (Read 3354 times)

Offline larrynews

high salinity
« on: January 11, 2010, 13:49:44 »
so have had trouble with a few fish dying lately, newer fish that i had added, so i checked the salinity and found it was 1.030 would that be high enough to kill them? i am slowly lowering it back to about 1.025 the fish that have been in there are ok. i'm guessing because they have beenin there since the slow raising of the salinity

Offline lazylivin

• Administrator
  • Adult
Re: high salinity
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2010, 13:56:19 »
Unlikely the salinity contributed to there death. That is not all that high.

Offline Rayman

• Adult
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2010, 14:53:20 »
1.030  may not be to high if you run towards the high side, and i am no expert on the matter at all, but i am wondering if it is the acclamation process and time, because if the LFS is stocking these new fish in say 1.021 water and then you think you are adding them to 1.025 which is really 1.030 you would be looking at a .009 difference compared to a .004 discrepancy at worst , so maybe the acclamation would now warrant more time than before and the fish in the tank have become used to the change slowly over time therefore are unaffected . I would slowly drop it down though to where you need it , and i am not sure if this is the culprit or not just my thoughts , i am sure someone with a better understanding will chime in.

sorry to hear this bad news and good luck figuring it out.

Offline larrynews

« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2010, 14:56:30 »
they lived a few days and it looked like they were eating, who knows it is a crazy hobby

Offline lazylivin

• Administrator
  • Adult
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2010, 16:34:08 »