2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: 90 Gallon planted  (Read 3620 times)

Offline slandis3

• Lifetime Premium Member
    • Slandiscreations
90 Gallon planted
« on: October 16, 2013, 18:13:38 »
Well its been over a year ago we broke down and sold the 400g we had. Still have the 180 in the house full of the cichlids we got from WuSue. I got a deal from a guy I work with on a stocked 90g reef with a bunch of extras. We tossed the idea around about setting the 90 up and keeping the reef. In the end we decided to go planted. I have never tried a planted tank before so though why not. Heres what I have so far.

90 gallon RR using both the 1" and 3/4" lines as drains. It has a Aqua clear aquatics sump, mag 18 return, small pan world for a water change pump. The thing to the right of the tank is a 6' tall bio-reactor. Its ran on the mag 18 return and a big Fluval air pump. Lights will be 4 54w T5 65k bulbs. Substrate will be a mix of flourite and echo-tech topped with sand. Not sure what plants I am going with, probably something really easy to start.  The reacto looks cool and I am hoping that if I decide to run Co2 at some point it will serve as a good reactor. So here are some pics of where I am right now, tank is running with vinegar water in it now to help clean it.

Offline lazylivin

• Administrator
  • Adult
Re: 90 Gallon planted
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2013, 19:59:16 »
I think it wants to be a reef tank and feels conflicted.  :P

Offline Tony

• Juvenile
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2013, 20:11:43 »
Haha, lazy.

I'm eager to see what it's going to look like.  What sort of plants are you wanting to throw in there, and what are you using for substrate?
No escape from the underwater world.  It always pulls me back in.

150 reef project
SSI Master Diver

Offline slandis3

• Slandiscreations
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2013, 20:17:46 »