2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: Customer Service  (Read 6245 times)

rupertswife

Customer Service
« on: February 19, 2010, 16:58:18 »
It has taken me a long time to finally write this because I sincerely don't want to offend anyone, but I feel like I need to share. I am in customer service, and have dealt with the public for a long, long time both in retail and in a corporate business setting. One thing I have learned in all my years is that it’s not what you say, but how you say it. I always try to follow one rule – I try very hard to show people what they CAN do rather than telling them what they CAN’T do.

I am new to the SW hobby and don't always know the right question to ask or what would necessarily be appropriate for my experience level or tank set up. I admit that right up front. However, I have not had good experienced getting newbie help from the independent LFS. Twice I was flat out told, "You can't do that......." Maybe that's true, but telling me right off the bat that I "can't" do something is a huge turn off for me and I probably will not hear anything said after that. I would much rather hear someone tell me, "That won't work for you right now, you CAN do this..." or "you CAN do that but first you need to……”

Once someone tells me I "can't" do something, I am pretty much out the door because it sounds to me like I am being told I'm not capable.

I completely understand all the arguments about not letting someone take something home and killing an animal or having disastrous results with the equipment. I get it. I really do!

Again, it’s not WHAT needs said, it’s all about HOW it’s said. Being ignorant is not the same as being foolish. I admit that I am ignorant and will probably ask a dumb question, but that does not mean I ‘can’t.’ Please tell me how I CAN!