2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: New Saltwater Newbie  (Read 4214 times)

Offline Sanchezkk

• Fry
New Saltwater Newbie
« on: February 19, 2012, 20:17:01 »
Hi,

I'm new to the saltwater aquarium hobby. I technically started to setup my fish only aquarium yesterday. It's been 24 hours and I just added my live rock. I have waited since last night for the cloudy water to clear. As of now, it yet has to clear up. How long do I need to wait before I should see clear water?

Right when I initially filled my tank yesterday I added some driftwood to the water. My wife mentioned that the driftwood could be bad for the chemistry of the cycle. Can someone help me with these issues.
Thanks in advance,

Kenneth Sanchez /Beginning Aquarium Enthusiast

Sent from my T-Mobile G2 using Tapatalk

Offline Steve

• Lifetime Premium Member
  • Adult
Re: New Saltwater Newbie
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2012, 21:18:38 »
I would not put drift wood in a saltwater setup. It would work against the necessary high PH  and could add nitrates and other undesireable things to the water.

Offline Sanchezkk

• Fry
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2012, 22:04:47 »
Steve,

I removed them. Am I out of harms way?

Offline Ashlar

• Adult
  • DIY Frankenstein
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2012, 22:28:30 »
If the driftwood was new, and not previously used in a tank that had copper dosed to it, you're probably fine.

One thing about saltwater tanks though- they take a lot longer to set up than a freshwater tank.

Don't expect the cycle to complete and be able to add anything for a solid month- at least not if you want to do it right.

Start testing your ammonia daily- and not just one of those ammonia badges or a dip strip, get a real test kit so that you can measure it. You'll want to see a spike in ammonia that then will start to come down, then nitrite will spike and then come down, and finally nitrate will come up then drop.