2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: Brand New at this  (Read 5249 times)

Offline Dstyles

• Got to keep on pushing!
  • Adult
Brand New at this
« on: October 08, 2008, 08:12:08 »
Hey everyone, I am just getting started with salt water tank.  Used to have lots of fresh water mainly African tanks.  Want to try something new and beautiful.  What are some of the best filters to use for a 75 gallon and where are the best places to look to purchase?  I want to keep some live rock and smaller non agressive fish.  Also what are the most essential items I need to get first?  Any advice would be appreciated.  Thanks
One Day At A Time

Offline Amstar

• Lifetime Premium Member
  • Adult
Re: Brand New at this
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2008, 09:35:43 »
if you are just looking to keep live rock and fish I would go with a wet/dry filter system.  Joel at aquariums etc may have some used ones for sale, or Dodd at North Dixi Reef may have one or two as well.

things to get first:

good filtration system
ro/di unit
and the usual for salt-water (salt, hydrometer, heaters, etc)

then try to map out what things you want to keep that way you can decided what type of lighting to go with. 

Offline Dstyles

• Adult
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2008, 10:33:09 »
Thanks for the tips.  I definitely wanted to go with the wet/dry filter. I apologize for my ignorance but where are the two places you mentioned located?  I am ready to get this set up and start it to cycle.
One Day At A Time

Offline Amstar

• Lifetime Premium Member
  • Adult
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2008, 10:58:03 »
aquariums etc is in centerville near the high school, and north dixie reef is on north dixie sort of by miller lane and all those great places to eat. 

click on the sponors up at the top where it says home, forum, image gallery, new, sponsors for their info

MechanicalEngineer

« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2008, 18:28:12 »