2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: New to coral  (Read 2036 times)

Offline wgerstner

• Egg
New to coral
« on: June 18, 2014, 08:40:59 »
I am new to coral and a little nervous about taking care of them. I just bought a bunch of different coral from a guy tearing down his tank. I don't know the names of the coral, but I have always loved the way they bring your tank together. I know that I bought a lot of soft coral, and the guy said I don't feed them that they get what they need from the lights. Is this true? Any help would be appreciated on how to take care of them. I have a 180g with 20g sump that I have used as a fish only tank for about 3 years (though it looks about empty because I only have a picasso trigger, lemon peel angel, and a snowflake eel and red mangroves). I recently obtained a reef breeder LED light, and have a 48" T5HO with 2 atinic and 2 white.

Offline kellyj

• Lifetime Premium Member
  • Adult
Re: New to coral
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2014, 09:06:15 »
wgerstner,
Sorry, but your corals will not be safe with the trigger. 
Kelly

Offline wgerstner

• Egg
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2014, 09:50:22 »
I will get rid of the trigger, but what about the coral? Also what type of fish do you recommend.

Offline kellyj

• Adult
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2014, 10:20:07 »
wgerstner,
There are many websites that list whether fish are reef compatible or not.  I use liveaquaria.com and bluezooaquatics.com.  As far as corals care, could you post pictures for identification?  It would be difficult to recommend care without knowing what you have.
Kelly

Offline Kenn

« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2014, 16:00:00 »
Hello wgerstner! Welcome :)