2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: 29 gallon build  (Read 1776 times)

Offline Finny

• Egg
29 gallon build
« on: June 11, 2013, 11:57:47 »
I am starting up a 29g high FOWLR that will hopefully go reef one day.  This is my first attempt at SW!  I'm running 2 Koralia nanos, a 100 W heater, stock LED light (which will be off for cycle), and I have a digital thermometer and a hydrometer.  I have 40 lbs Fiji Pink LS and I just today got 15 lbs of cured Manado LR from Premium Aquatics.  I plan to get an uncooked shimp and toss in there to help with the cycle.  I have the liquid API test kits to monitor my params.  My super tentative stock list is 2 ocellaris clowns and 1 firefish plus some inverts TBD.

Got some initial questions I haven't got much help at a larger fish forum I belong to.  Very helpful for FW, but less active for SW apparently!

I have been told I do not need a sump or a skimmer for a tank this size with my understocking goal.  Thoughts?

I do think I'm going to need more rock.  Is there anywhere local I can get dry rock?  Or should I just order some from PA?  Or even just order some more of the LR?

I have horrible white deposits in areas on the inside of my tank glass.  The tank has been up and running over the weekend, and the white stuff appeared...  Is it salt?  Best way to remove it?

Sorry for billions of questions!
Thank you!!!!

Offline Boonjob

• Reefkeeping: Go Broke or Go Home
Re: 29 gallon build
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2013, 14:34:42 »
First, Hello and Welcome to Ohio Reef! Glad to have you on the boards!

So...

1. You dont NEED a sump/skimmer but they sure wont hurt if you used one, and there are no negatives if you can fit one into the budget and room you have to work with.