2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: DIY Battery Backup  (Read 1631 times)

Offline Blazinreef

• Adult
DIY Battery Backup
« on: August 25, 2011, 19:18:48 »
So after trying to figure out if I can buy a computer battery backup to run my pump for an hour or two while I have time to get the generator running, I found it would be ungodly expensive.

My return pump is a Panworld Blueline 70. It uses 290w. I think the better way to go is a deepcell marine battery and an inverter. I am not an electrician, so I need someone who has something like this set up to walk me thru piece by piece and step by step of what I need to do. Much thanks up front.
Firefighting:  How hard can it be?  You just put the wet stuff on the red stuff right?

57 Rimless SPS/LPS in the works

OLD:180g mixed reef, 60g sump, 2 30g frag tanks, 30g macro algae tank.  300g total system.

Offline Todd W.

• Adult
Re: DIY Battery Backup
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2011, 20:03:22 »
Not an electrician or EE but there are some here who are....  However you may want to research the charge/discharge/battery life of a deepcell.  The difference between a UPS (Uninterrupted Power Supply) and a deep cell is the UPS keeps the batteries in top shape and always ready to kick on automatically (hint hint automatically).

If you have a deep cell, depending on the type of battery charger you have it hooked up to (some battery chargers are designed for deep cell batteries and monitor them but they may be pricey) you have to check your charge manually.  Then you have to manually hook up your tank equipment.  With a UPS you can plug the heater and pump in and it uses AC power when there isn't an outage.

During the Ohio Hurricane I kept my 46 gallon alive with a Maxijet 1400 and a 200W heater for 4 1/2 days by rotating a deep cell and a car battery that I charged at my brothers house.  Each battery lasted about 24 hours with the power inverter (can't remember how many watts).  This solution was time consuming.