2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: Lighting Dillema  (Read 6817 times)

Offline SweetReefOH

• Lifetime Premium Member
  • Adult
Lighting Dillema
« on: May 26, 2017, 19:17:03 »
Need some advise. When I got back into the hobby a few months ago, I studied up on LED lighting. I couldn't really find any watts/gallon charts for SPS and LED lighting. I probably didn't look hard enough. At any rate, I decided on the AI Prime HD mostly because I love the adjustability of the light thru the app. Mind you, this was originally for  a 29g tank. After the LFS fiasco I just decided to go with a 75g tank and I purchased another Prime HD. Now, my tank is really stable and everything is doing decent but the coral growth is really slow. I would like some opinions on the effectiveness of these lights and whether I should upgrade to the HD26. If I do that, than I am stuck with two, almost new, Prime HD's. Would anyone have any interest in them at a fair price?

Offline CoralBeauties

• Adult
Re: Lighting Dillema
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2017, 21:37:19 »
Hows your corals color?  I dont know squat about your lights but I would judge their effectiveness somewhat by the coloration in your sps corals.  You can have great color with your lights but if your water if not right your growth will be effected.  Basically dont judge your growth entirely by your lighting.
Jeff

Offline soldiers4christ50

• Adult
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2017, 22:22:22 »
Agree with Jeff lighting is only part of the equation. I used to base my coral growth on light as well. I think the most important part especially for sps is the water condition making sure all your levels are stable consistently. Sps loves consistency in chemistry. I believe your lights are probably ok for your current set up although I don't know much about them.

Offline lazylivin

• Administrator
  • Adult
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2017, 23:01:55 »