2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: possible sump set up  (Read 1294 times)

Offline Amstar

• Lifetime Premium Member
  • Adult
possible sump set up
« on: September 09, 2008, 10:57:26 »
The sump is a 55 gallon tank.  I will have it drilled for the external pump as well as drilled to run a skimmer externally as well.  This is just an idea and I know my measurements are not exactly perfect.  Also I am not very good with drawings... so laugh away.. i did as I created this.  the picture is tough to see.  so the first chamber is for the filter sock.  then have about a 1/2"  till the next baffel which will be 8 inches tall and the chamber 2" wide to hold xenia and anthillia's (spelling??)  the another 8" baffel to hold 6" of sand.  this area will be about 30 inches long and hold macro algae and mangroves. Then you have another 8" baffel to hold in the sand then a baffel coming down from the top.  then another 8" baffel to hold sand for a cryptic zone (about 5" wide) then 8" baffel and one final baffel coming from the top.  the cryptic zone would have a black tarp (not sure what I would use) to help block light to the cyrptic zone area.

What do you think? 

Midwest Express

Re: possible sump set up
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2008, 11:42:52 »
Not sure you want the cryptic zone next to your pump.  I am speaking only from what I have read, but you want the cryptic zone in the slowest movement of water.  Which I would think would be in the middle.  I'm not sure of the pump you are using and how much movement it will cause coming out of the side of your tank.

Please correct me if I am wrong because I am looking at building a similar sump and that is what has been going through my head, order and placement of everything.

Offline Amstar

• Adult
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2008, 12:27:49 »