2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: Removing the plug from frags?  (Read 3792 times)

Offline ~reefchik~

• Adult
    • Real Job:  HunnyBuns Nursery & Reborn Supply
Removing the plug from frags?
« on: February 26, 2010, 16:32:00 »
Ok, so laugh  :D

I'm new to buying SPS on those plug things.  I got one that seems to be resin or plastic.  And it's fat.
What do people do with that ugly thing?  There's no hole in the rock I can plug it into.  Can I remove the frag from it and put it on the rock directly? 
-Steph
--------------
What do you call an old reefer with no tank? 
:-(
-----------------------------

Offline HUNGER

Re: Removing the plug from frags?
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2010, 17:06:51 »
i dont see why you cant
SIZE DOES MATTER

Reefd Up

« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2010, 17:48:32 »
I recommend removing the plug from all corals.  Plugs are a great hiding place for pests, nuisance algae, etc.  You can remove the coral from the plug and attach the coral directly onto the rocks with the use of reef-safe epoxy or a big glob of cyanoacrylate glue (super glue gel). 

lilleigh

« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2010, 20:50:09 »
I dip all my frags. Then remove them from the plug and superglue or epoxy them depending on what it is to rock rubble, or the rockwork in the tank. Then I grow out the base in my frag tank.

If I buy an entire colony I snip a frag off and glue that to the rock work for SPS. Keep the mother colony in the frag tank, and spread the frags around. Save a reef I say!!

Plastic? Get something from ORA? What did you buy?

Offline ~reefchik~

• Adult
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2010, 21:01:07 »
Yes, I think it's an ORA acro frag, what kind I forget at the moment but def. one of the less demanding ones.
It's a black golf-tee looking thing.