2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: Ca, Alk, and Mg  (Read 2732 times)

Offline reefkeeper

• Juvenile
Ca, Alk, and Mg
« on: April 30, 2009, 15:59:24 »
As many of you know, I am new to the hobby (and am loving it).  I have a 120 reef, 55 fug, 5 fish, 100+ lbs of LR, and a few frags that a couple of guys gave me. 

What are the proper levels for Ca, Alk, and Mg and how do you maintain these levels?  My ph stays a pretty constant 8.3, although it seems to be creeping up lately.  Could be my probe needs recalibrated.  It's been about 2 months since I calibrated it.   Thanks -Jeff
Jeff
120g baby reef w/ 55g refug
Penn State & Steelers Fan

Offline lazylivin

• Administrator
  • Adult
Re: Ca, Alk, and Mg
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2009, 19:55:24 »
If you have had your windows open that is probrably why it has been creeping up on you.

Offline lazylivin

• Administrator
  • Adult
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2009, 19:59:03 »
My parameters I shoot for are as follows:
Calcium 425PPM
Magnesium 1350PPM
Alkalinity 9.5dkh

Here is a good range to stay between. You would want to pick a number in this range and do your best to keep it constant. Most critical is Alk becasue of the affect on PH.
Calcium 400-450
Mag 1285-1450
Alk 8-10dkh
« Last Edit: April 30, 2009, 20:12:41 by Lazylivin »

Offline reefkeeper

• Juvenile
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2009, 18:59:12 »
Thanks Lazlivin.  So, what technique or device, etc. does everyone use to keep the Ca, Alk, and Mg within parameters?
Jeff
120g baby reef w/ 55g refug
Penn State & Steelers Fan

Offline CoralBeauties

• Lifetime Premium Member
  • Adult
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2009, 22:34:14 »