2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: CO2 Scrubber  (Read 1684 times)

Offline ohioreef

• Lifetime Premium Member
  • Founding Member
CO2 Scrubber
« on: May 27, 2021, 12:43:44 »
Does anyone have any experience running a CO2 scrubber on their skimmer to raise pH?

Offline SweetReefOH

• Adult
Re: CO2 Scrubber
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2021, 14:23:01 »
Does anyone have any experience running a CO2 scrubber on their skimmer to raise pH?
I’ve been running one intermittently for a couple years. Two canisters tubed to my skimmer intake. I only run my skimmer 10hrs a day though

Offline ohioreef

• Founding Member
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2021, 14:29:31 »
Does it seem to help with keeping your pH up?

My pH has been running 7.3-7.5. Everything looks fine, but I’d like to get it up.

Offline SweetReefOH

• Adult
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2021, 18:08:20 »
Absolutely it does. But you must be careful. Our reefs need CO2. If you gas off all the CO2 in your system, via scrubber,your pH goes very high, as well as your consumption of nutrients. You run the risk of starving out your reef. That’s why I only run it 8-10 hrs a day.

Offline ohioreef

• Founding Member
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2021, 18:31:34 »
Thanks for the info and real world experience. Sounds like one would help me.

Offline zachegg

• Juvenile
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2022, 22:12:48 »
I know this is an old thread but I was wondering what co2 scrubber you are using.

Offline SweetReefOH

• Adult
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2022, 07:45:19 »