2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: Drilling glass  (Read 3450 times)

Online JSellars

• Lifetime Premium Member
  • Adult
Drilling glass
« on: December 23, 2019, 10:04:47 »
Who here is confident enough to drill 1 hole in the back panel of my new aquarium? I have no experience doing it and don’t want to ruin a brand new $300 tank lol

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline dbowman

• Adult
Re: Drilling glass
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2019, 15:21:20 »
i bought a marineland 75 gal combo and an Eshopp's L internal overflow. once i drill it i will let you know whether i have confidence in my ability... or where i buy the pre-drilled 75 that i will need. Merry Chrismas!

Online JSellars

• Adult
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2019, 15:37:08 »
i bought a marineland 75 gal combo and an Eshopp's L internal overflow. once i drill it i will let you know whether i have confidence in my ability... or where i buy the pre-drilled 75 that i will need. Merry Chrismas!

I bought a reef ready tank buy it only has 2 holes in the bottom of the overflow box. I want to change it to a Herbie style overflow. So i will need to drill another hole in it for the return.

Offline SweetReefOH

• Adult
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2019, 16:07:04 »
It sounds scarier than it is. I’ve drilled 4 tanks in the last couple years. My first one was nerve racking, but it went smoothly after that. Plenty of water, go slow and let the bit do the work. There’s a lot of YouTube videos out there too.

Offline dbjonesjr

• Adult
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2019, 16:13:48 »
I’d think twice about drilling a hole in the bottom glass. Check if it’s tempered. The ones with predrilled holes are often drilled and then tempered after drilling.
Edit: Read your post again and realized you’re doing a herbie style and not a bean animal. The below suggestions are good.
« Last Edit: December 23, 2019, 17:08:40 by dbjonesjr »

Offline dbowman

• Adult
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2019, 16:18:37 »