2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: Instant Ocean  (Read 2531 times)

Offline micki

• Best mamaw Reefer!!!
  • My munchkins! :)
Instant Ocean
« on: February 11, 2011, 15:48:30 »
Does anyone use instant ocean salt any more?   :-\

Offline Steve

• Lifetime Premium Member
  • Adult
Re: Instant Ocean
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2011, 15:49:44 »
Yes I do. Wondering why?

Offline starfishprime

• Juvenile
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2011, 15:56:45 »
I use IORC. I do weekly water changes and have seen nothing negative that has made me want to change. There are some higher quality salt mixes out there but if you are dosing with additives like maybe a 2-part solution then why bother spending the extra dollar on the salt? Now if you are just relying on the quality of the salt mix then maybe you should look into a 'better' salt mix. I don't use an additive I've been doing weekly water changes for the past ~4 months and have stopped using additives for ~4 months to see if I notice a difference in growth or, CA MG and dKH levels. So far so good. Now do remember though, everyone is going to have different experiences this is just mine so far.

Offline micki

• Best mamaw Reefer!!!
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2011, 16:01:14 »
Yes I do. Wondering why?

Just wondering.  I haven't heard anyone say anything about IO lately.  I haven't seen salt buys for IO and thought I was missing something.  LOL  By the way, I've used it for years with no problems.

Offline Viggen

« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2011, 16:01:59 »
I also use it, never had a problem with their salt

I think I have a bucket or two of Kent left

Since I am FO it's not as important for me to be picky
300g tub o fish

Offline lazylivin

• Administrator
  • Adult
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2011, 17:52:03 »