2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: New tank and misc  (Read 3198 times)

Simpte

New tank and misc
« on: August 10, 2006, 18:36:28 »
My aunt found a 65 gallon tank with iron stand and lights and heater and some other stuff for $40.00 and bought it for me.  The nice surprise is the tank came with and overflow box, sump, and another piece.  I'm very new to reef tanks and not sure what the third part is or what the material in the overflow and unknown part is.  I've posted a few pics to help.

And this one is the part I'm unsure of....................

What is the suff in them and why is it there?

Offline ohioreef

• Lifetime Premium Member
  • Founding Member
Re: New tank and misc
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2006, 18:42:04 »
Looks like a mechanical filter.

Simpte

« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2006, 18:55:33 »
So I dont really need it then.  Thanks for the help. :)  I'll clean it over the weekend and add it to my current setup that has finished cycling :)

bigfalcon36

« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2006, 19:42:44 »
Looks like a home made trickle filter.

Offline REDPYRO

• Hey Everybody!
  • Who did what now?
    • MrLevek Productions
« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2006, 19:55:08 »
take out the thing inside and put LR in it

bigfalcon36

« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2006, 20:12:46 »
I was thinking along the same lines, but take the stuff out and drill it out for a 3/4" bulk head on the side.  Set it up as a refugium.

Simpte

« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2006, 20:14:53 »
The problem I have with that is my stand is a stor bought pressed board one :(  It splits the area underneath in half.  I can put the sump underneath but the refugium would half to be on the other side.  Is that still workeable?

Offline Joel

• Adult
« Reply #7 on: August 11, 2006, 07:02:16 »
Great score!!!! That's a heck of a good price.