2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: zoa trouble  (Read 3913 times)

Offline larrynews

zoa trouble
« on: May 14, 2009, 22:29:19 »
so i have a batch of zoas that are weathering away so i have been looking every night to see if i have any pyramid snails or anything and tonight i found one of those broken star fish, my question is , is that eating my zoas and that is what is killing them or is it eating them because the are dying(eating the died tissue
thanks

Offline harleyrider

• Adult
  • If you have to ask, you cant afford it!
Re: zoa trouble
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2009, 22:41:47 »
I am new to this hobby, but from what i have read and heard from a lot of people, that star fish are bad for corals, and you shouldnt have them in a reef at all....again just what ive heard, dont know for a fact!

Reefd Up

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2009, 23:10:47 »
I am new to this hobby, but from what i have read and heard from a lot of people, that star fish are bad for corals, and you shouldnt have them in a reef at all....again just what ive heard, dont know for a fact!

Not at all.  There are probably thousands of species of starfish...and many of them are reef-safe starfish.  It's unfair to label them all bad.  Yes, some starfish do eat corals (crown of thorns, chocolate chip, SPS-eating-starfish), but most are just detritus-eaters. 

Chances are, it's just eating the dead tissue.  But, I would still post pictures for us to identify the type.  To diagnose the problem, please post your water/tank parameters and pictures of the zoanthids/starfish.

Offline larrynews

« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2009, 23:16:55 »
thanks its the same kind i have had in there for what seems like ever but i'll try tomorrow and get a picture

Reefd Up

« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2009, 06:33:44 »
They're probably just asterina starfish...very harmless.

Offline joelbegt

• Adult
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2009, 08:50:14 »