2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: Thinking of Going MH...NEED HELP!!!  (Read 4493 times)

MechanicalEngineer

Thinking of Going MH...NEED HELP!!!
« on: December 13, 2007, 19:31:27 »
Well, it's time for the 6-month change-a-roo of the PC lightbulbs...and I got to thinking...I really hate my bulbs...so why spend at least $100 on new stupid lights??

I know there are 20 billion threads out in the world on lighting.  However, I want local opinions...and local help on this.  Plus, I can read all day and not learn a thing if it isn't in plain English. 

I have a 40g long tank.  The tank is about 18" deep with a 4-5" dsb.  I would LIKE to have an SPS dominated tank, but right now I am keeping a mixed reef. 

I want bulbs (whether metal halide or supplemental actinics) that will really make the corals *pop*. 

I'd like to do this on the more cheap side since I'm a poor college student.   ;D  I don't have any experience in wiring, so help or directions are good. 

So, my question is, what sort of metal halides should I go with?  What wattage, Kelvin, brand, double ended or whatever, etc.  Should I supplement with actinics?  If so, should I go with VHO, T-5's? 

I plan to keep this as my main tank for at least another 3 years until we move.  I'd like this to not be something I want to upgrade in 6 months.

.........and....GO!

Thanks,
Nikki

Offline cbell

• Juvenile
Re: Thinking of Going MH...NEED HELP!!!
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2007, 20:01:55 »
i like 250watt mh on a tank 18 inches deep. i really like the look of the hamilton 14k bulbs. the radium bulbs look really good too, but i think the par is pretty low on them.

Offline Amstar

• Lifetime Premium Member
  • Adult
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2007, 20:12:12 »
my tank is 18 inches deep and I have 175 watt hamilton 14k bulbs on it.  working on getting my actinics back up. 

Offline REDPYRO

• Hey Everybody!
  • Who did what now?
    • MrLevek Productions
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2007, 20:13:38 »