2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: Saltwater Refractometer  (Read 1597 times)

Offline smoothie7

• Fry
Saltwater Refractometer
« on: May 01, 2014, 14:44:49 »
I was looking at the Milwaukee Seawater Digital Refractometer and it looks really nice. I am just getting into saltwater aquariums and have a 90 gallon and 29 gallon take. How often would I be using this tool. Wandering if I can justify spending the money.

Offline kellyj

• Lifetime Premium Member
  • Adult
Re: Saltwater Refractometer
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2014, 15:11:26 »
Smoothie,
When I started out a few months ago, I bought a hydrometer ($10-15).  I couldn't get an accurate enough reading with it so I looked into a refractometer.  I couldn't justify the cost of the digital, (over twice the price) so I bought the analog/manual one.  It works great and I am happy with my decision to not get the digital one.  I use it every few days and every water change.  Get a refractometer, you will be pleased.
Kelly

Offline rrivera@cinci.rr.com

• Fry
Thanks for your time,

Mark

Offline Wall_Tank

• Administrator
  • Adult
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2014, 12:25:40 »
The club has that Milwaukee meter for loan if you are a premium member....   Definitely not required, but it easy to use.    For the most part a hand held refractometers are fine.

Do be sure that you calibrate with pure water, or better yet with calibration fluid   http://premiumaquatics.com/aquatic-supplies/RH-OV20010.html

Offline andys1982

• Adult
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2014, 12:44:01 »