2024 Ohio Reef Frag Swap

2024 flyer

Author Topic: Not new to aquariums but new to saltwater  (Read 8091 times)

Offline 213chrisp

• Fry
Not new to aquariums but new to saltwater
« on: September 29, 2010, 09:51:13 »
After my 2 year aniversary with my wife, we just got back from flordia and i am extremly impressed with what i have seen in the wild of the saltwater, and have alwayse admired saltwater in the aquarium stores just expensive to convert one of my larger tanks to saltwater...... I use to own a 55 with chiclids, and a few other fresh water , and 2 29's.... but none are currently working right now, but i am looking into a smaller nano tank, and found what seems to be a decent 12 gallon nano tank i was thinking about making into a saltwater reef tank.... i just HAVE NO CLUE where to start with this, and i want to do alot of research with this before i purchase the tank.....

Any suggestions or baisc guidelines and tips would be greatly appreciate as i am new to this.

Offline 213chrisp

• Fry
Re: Not new to aquariums but new to saltwater
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2010, 09:55:13 »
here is what i was looking at possiably doing...

http://dayton.craigslist.org/hsh/1943952460.html

i know i cannot have alot of fish in this tank as the size is small, but i would think 2 or 3 small ones would be enough...

Offline 213chrisp

• Fry
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2010, 09:57:36 »
and i do plan to be going to florida keys this spring, so i will have access to bring back wild fish, coarl, or any other wildlife i can find, we setup a saltwater tank in our moble home and bring back fish for other family relitives for there larger tanks they have setup already for the last multiple years and keep there tank stocked up way and cost ALOT less then what it would from the LFS... :)

Offline Viggen

« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2010, 10:32:23 »
Where do you go in the Key's?  I spent 1 week or so down there in August at mile marker 14....